Dark Horse’s June Variant Covers

There’s some pretty nifty variant covers for Dark Horse’s June offerings. Below are some for Hellboy: The Fury #1, Dark Horse Presents #2 and Rage #1. See the rest here.


New DC #1 Covers

I’m sure these will show up on DC’s official blog soon now, but here you can find a handful of leaked September releasing debut covers, including Batwoman, Catwoman, Swamp Thing and yes, unfortunately the long running Detective Comics series. There’s also an official list of the four new Green Lantern related #1s here.

Lastly, here’s the cover for Nightwing #1 from artist Eddy Barrows. The speculation is that it’s actually the third (and resurrected) Robin Jason Todd under the mask, which could be true, especially considering his natural red hair would go with the red (instead of the usual blue) colour on this Nightwing costume. However, all I can think of after seeing this image, is Chris O’Donell from Batman and Robin.


Nope, it’s the original Robin, Dick Grayson who’s reclaiming his first post-Robin identity as Nightwing, meaning he’ll presumably give up the mantle of the Bat for the second time in his crimefighting career. DC have now officially posted more info about the Bat-family relaunches, including new series focusing on the African Batman, Grant Morrison’s Batman Incorporated, Jason Todd’s Red Hood and the Outlaws, and Batgirl, which sees Barbara Gordon leave the Oracle identity behind and reclaim her Batgirl one. That means DC continuity is maddeningly being rewound a few years, but at least her series will be written by Gail Simone.



ThunderCats DVD

Since we discussed the new He-Man/ThunderCats covention in last week’s podcast, this is good timing. I’ve wanted to get ThunderCats on DVD for ages, but it’s always been fairly pricey, considering there were a massive 65 episodes in its first season. Now we have a cheaper alternative. Official info below.

ThunderCats, Ho!
ThunderCats: The Original Series Season 1, Part 1
The Legendary 80’s Cartoon Comes to DVD on July 12, 2011
This summer, the Code of Thundera will live on when Warner Home Video releases ThunderCats: The Original Series Season 1 Part 1 July 12, 2011 on DVD – just ahead of the
all-new series premiere of ThunderCats on Cartoon Network. The 2-disc collection set, priced to own at $19.97, includes the first 12 action-packed episodes, as well as a special featurette entitled “Feel the Magic, Hear the Roar,” where fans speak out about their incredible
passion for the classic animated series.
One of the 1980s’ most popular animated series, ThunderCats spawned fan-driven conventions and a wide array of highly sought-after consumer products – from action figures and video games to lunch boxes and comic books. ThunderCats: The Original Series Season 1 Part 1 introduces the first animated adventures of the feline-inspired fantasy! A noble band of survivors from the peaceful world of Thundera bravely faces off against vicious mutants intent on destroying them.
Make way for exotic creatures, mystical powers and action-packed battles of good versus evil in the exciting saga of the ThunderCats! ThunderCats: The Original Series Season 1 Part 1 follows the heroic groups’ early adventures as they adopt Third Earth as their new home
and encounter alien beings galore – some friendly, some looking for a fight! And while they brave their strange surroundings, their young leader Lion-O struggles with his new responsibilities as head of their foundling civilization. The result is more than four hours of classic cartoon thrills.
“This release is perfectly timed to engage devoted fans eagerly awaiting the new ThunderCats series debut on Cartoon Network this summer,” said Mary Ellen Thomas, WHV Executive Director, Family & Animation Marketing. “We are excited for this great opportunity to
introduce the series to a brand new generation a quarter of a century after the original premiere.”
Disc 1
1. Exodus
2. The Unholy Alliance
3. Berbils
4. The Slaves of Castle Plun-darr
5. Pumma-Ra
6. The Terror of Hammerhand
Disc 2
7. Trouble with Time
8. The Tower of Traps
9. The Garden of Delights
10. Mandora the Evil Chaser
11. The Ghost Warrior
12. The Doomgaze