My First Book Is Out!

I must say, after over a year of focused work, it’s a great feeling to open a box and see books with my name on it. It’s a grand feeling to finally hold it in my hands and know it’s real! 🙂

Beautiful Nonsense is an anthology of 35 funny and odd short stories, in the vein of Monty Python, Blackadder, Jack Handey, Peter Cook and Dudley Moore. Here’s my official description below the photos.

BN2

BN1

An out of touch father trying to teach his bored son a unique form of martial arts.

A flashy superhero who cares more about his image than actually doing anything heroic.

A shy Martian longing to fit into high school in the American Mid-West.

The thirty five short stories within Kris Bather’s debut range from the bizarre (elderly friends hazily recounting their glory days) to the even more bizarre (competitors in a chili eating festival happily willing to die for first prize).

Surreal and silly, Beautiful Nonsense embraces the inherent oddness of interactions, both human and otherwise, and takes them to hilarious extremes.

You can buy the digital version for only $1.49 from the Amazon Australia store. The print version as well as the digital version are also available from Amazon’s other sites worldwide, including America and the UK. Canada! France! Brazil! India! Germany!

You can check out a preview of my book on the links above, but it is a random preview, so you may not get my complete stories. However you can check out full previews on my Wattpad.

It’s published through CreateSpace, which is effectively Amazon’s self-publishing arm, and I highly recommend it. Anyone can publish their books via CreateSpace and with Amazon’s global reach, it makes a lot of sense for indie authors like myself.

It’s been a challenging process at times, but also a very rewarding one. If you do buy a copy, I hope you like it and please let me know what you think.

Abstract Anthology

Indie publisher Fantagraphics do good work. On June 29  a rather unique 208 page anthology, all centred on abstract comics is released, edited by Andrei Molotiu. I had no idea such a genre even existed in comics, and now I must say I’m intrigued. There’s an interview with Andrei here. He’s quite an authority and artist, on non-narrative abstract comics apparently. There’s also a blog from the contributors, who range from newbies to oldies. Cool. Not for everyone, certainly, but this kind of artistic expression should be welcomed in sequential art.

AbstractComics_Cover

ABSTRACT_IntroPagesDETAIL

World War 3 Illustrated #39 Review

ww3-coverThis is one of those books I ordered from Previews simply because it looked like something different. And it certainly is. World War 3 has been around since 1980 and was created by artists Peter Kuper and Seth Tobocman. In their own words, “WW3 has functioned as a microcosm of the the kind of society we’d like to see. Content is valued over style and ideas are not regarded for their popularity, but for their substance. Artists are given a forum to reach an audience with their work and the opportunity to interact and examine their concepts in a group setting.”

With a rotating team of editors and no shortage of contributors, WW3 offers true creative freedom and a rare outlet for some inspired artists. Every page has something to say about today’s world; both good and bad. The latest issue is an almost entirely wordless one. With over 30 short stories, this 120 page mainly black and white comic is a splendid read. Size-wise it sits somewhere between a standard comic and a magazine, reminding you that what’s inside is some entertaining and unique content. Reading it, I felt like an intellectual, part of the cultural vanguard, rallying against, “the man.” Or maybe I just felt that way  because this is a comic from artists I’ve never heard of and doesn’t feature a single superhero. Either way, I’m so glad I picked it up. As with any anthology, the quality varies, but I was genuinely smiling at a few witty entries, particularly The Crisis by Terry Labahn about one man’s failure to learn his lesson about money and In Security by Santiago Cohen. The latter brims with dark humour, but like every story within these pages, it has a point to make. Some are obvious and quite touching in their simplicity, while others had me scratching my head as to what exactly they were trying to say. The art styles range from manga to cartoons to the swirling, expressive line work seen in the double pages of Mac McGill’s Song For Katrina. There’s also a short selection of Kuper’s photos of art seen on Mexican walls. A well researched  4 page article by David A. Berona on the history of wordless art as it relates to spotlighting social injustice is a nice touch too and helps remind readers that the powerful , yet simple tales within WW3 are part of a global force. The majority of the work here, as in every issue, is focused on humanity and it’s needless desire for destruction of the environment or itself. None of the stories are depressing however. They serve to remind us of what we already know, such as the sometimes foolishness of chasing material wealth. Those who know that comics don’t always live up to their potential as a storytelling force to be noticed, will find a kindred spirit within these emotive pages.

You can read an interview with Kuper about WW3 and this particular issue here.

bubel3birds72steps_972

Popgun Preview

The 3rd volume of the much loved comics anthology, Popgun is out now from Image. Yes, now! Anthologies are the in thing now in sequential art, as it’s a pleasant and surprising distraction from superhero epics for fanboys and girls, and a great entry into the world of comics for the uninitiated. Below are a few random preview pages, but you can see a lot more of the massive 472 page (for only $30) tome at the official site. We loved Tara McPherson’s cover so much, we dedicated the back page of the new Extra Sequential #2 to it. Inside you’ll find a lot more unique art from a slew of very talented storytellers.

0203

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

04

05

11

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

02-1

  • Calendar

    • November 2017
      M T W T F S S
      « Apr    
       12345
      6789101112
      13141516171819
      20212223242526
      27282930  
  • Search