Bad Dreams and Haunted from Red 5 Comics

Two new series are being released in late April from Red 5 Comics, publisher of the always entertaining Atomic Robo. Official info for the all-ages Bad Dreams, and the amazing looking Haunted below.

Haunted, by the way, is on the way to being adapted by the production company of Bryan Singer, director of The Usual Suspects and the upcoming X-Men: Days of Future Past. Cool.

Comic Promises BAD DREAMS for All Ages

Mary doesn’t remember being afraid of the dark. In fact, since waking up in a dream world of eternal day, she doesn’t remember much of anything. When night vanished, so did her memory, and now maybe it’s time to be afraid of the light…

baddreamscoverBAD DREAMS — a somewhat twisted tale of whimsy — chronicles the adventures of an odd group of Dreamworld characters: Mary, Nimrod, Sir Spanks (a Night Mouse Knight), Spide, and Shroom. Mary wakes to discover both her memory and Night have gone missing from the land. Mother Night’s absence is causing havoc as everyone slowly goes insane from lack of sleep. The friends must pool their resources, working together to uncover the strange secret of their past and exactly who’s behind it all.

BAD DREAMS is a five-part fantasy adventure by Gary Winnick, a comic book writer, illustrator, and game designer best known for co-designing Lucasfilm Games’ Maniac Mansion. The lavishly illustrated tale will capture the imagination of all comic readers, in the tradition of Red 5’s ATOMIC ROBO and BODIE TROLL.
“BAD DREAMS truly resonates from my creative core,” said Winnick, “that’s why I’ve spent all these nights and weekends on it. I think it’s my best work. I hope the audience agrees.”

“During my time at Lucasfilm and LucasArts in the 2000s, Maniac Mansion was considered one of those legendary titles that we were inspired by and aspired to,” said Red 5 Comics co-founder, Paul Ens. “When I heard that Gary was completing his graphic novel passion project, I knew it would be a perfect fit for Red 5 — imaginative, clever and fun.”

As Red 5 is an independent publisher, the best way to ensure your copy of “Bad Dreams” this spring is to pre-order it before February 28 from your comic shop using order code FEB141419. “Bad Dreams #1” of the five-issue series is set for release on April 23, 2014.

Ghosts Overrun the Earth in HAUNTED

In the story of HAUNTED, the barrier between our world and the spiritual realm was mysteriously torn apart allowing the Earth to be overrun by ghosts, demons and poltergeists. Creatures once thought to be mythological terrorized mankind and society collapsed. Thirteen years later, Sarah McCallister manages to survive by being tough, smart, and looking out only for herself. But when a chance to set the world back to normal arises, she finds herself in the compromising position of putting her faith in strangers for the first time.

HAUNTED is a four-part horror action-adventure written by Scott Chitwood (DRONE, AFTERBURN, DEAD OR ALIVE), illustrated by newcomer Danny Luckert, and colored by Ivan Plascencia (NEOZOIC: TRADER’S GAMBIT). It is also featured in Red 5’s 2014 Free Comic Book Day issue.

“The problem with most ghost stories is that if the characters simply leave the haunted house, all of their problems are over,” said Chitwood. “But if the entire world is the haunted house, there’s nowhere to run or hide. Imagine the end of ‘Ghostbusters’, but with the heroes failing and Gozer taking over the world.”

HAUNTED’s lead character is as broken as the world that shaped her. “Sarah survived a traumatic and dangerous childhood, constantly on the run from all manner of horrors,” said Chitwood. “But if she is to have any hope of saving the world, she must go against every instinct that has kept her alive so far.”

While not yet on shelves, HAUNTED has already attracted the attention of Hollywood and has been optioned by Bryan Singer’s Bad Hat Harry Productions to produce the adaptation of the comic. “As a long-time fan of THE USUAL SUSPECTS and Singer’s X-MEN films,” Chitwood explained, “it was very gratifying to find Bad Hat so enthusiastic about the story and premise of HAUNTED. They have been incredibly supportive and great to work with.”

As Red 5 is an independent publisher, the best way to ensure your copy of HAUNTED this spring is to pre-order it by the end of February from your comic shop using order code FEB141420. Haunted #1 of the four-issue series is set for release on April 30, 2014.

Haunted-Issue1_cover

 

Haunted01-page1

 

Haunted01-page2

 

Haunted01-page3

 

Haunted01-page4

 

Haunted01-page5

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s